12 Replies Latest reply on Jul 3, 2017 1:59 PM by joed

plant seeds directly into TG

I'm very new to the TG and Tower Talk.  Sorry if someone already asked this...  I have an indoor TG and half of it is currently filled with pre-grown seedlings that I ordered online.  I'm getting ready to start my own... Can I put new seeds directly into the TG?  Or can they not be exposed to direct light till I see that they have been germinated?   Thanks!

• Re: plant seeds directly into TG

I'm no expert but you're supposed to seed in the rock wool first and let the rock wool sit on 1/4 " water. I imagine this helps the seeds germinate faster versus dripping water every 15 minutes. My TG is indoors so I just leave the seed tray in the TG so the seeds get plenty of light.

joed

Hi taralthomas,  It is strongly recommended that you place seedlings in the TG only after you see roots exiting the rockwool cube. You can read about the entire process in the following documents:

The Basic Seedling Growing Procedure (read the "Starting Your Seeds" section of the Tower Garden Growing Guide):

http://www.towergarden.com/content/dam/towergarden/resources/tower-garden-growing-guide.pdf

An Extended Seedling Growing Procedure:

JoeD's Seedling Growing Procedure

-- [please mark this post as "Correct Answer" (under Actions menu) and/or "Helpful" when appropriate] -- Happy Growing! -JoeD towergarden level2concepts tgtech TG Tech

1 of 1 people found this helpful

Thank you!  I did read the growing procedures, but was wondering why we would need to wait to see roots before placing them in the TG.  Is it because they aren't getting constant water?  Mine is set for 15 min on and 30 min off.  Or is it because the direct UV light is too much in the beginning?  Or is it because they shouldn't have water with the minerals or the ph at 6.0?  I'm just trying to get a better feel for how and why things work. 

joed