3 Replies Latest reply on Jan 4, 2018 4:11 PM by dniezby

system of a greens

sageann

Good day all. I am starting my hydroponic garden! I don't have much room and would like to dedicate a whole system to just greens.  I was looking at a square frame design with 4 or 5 rows on a stand for this. How large should the holes be for greens, I've noticed different sizes in the kits I've found. Do you recommend getting a kit? or making one myself? We're pretty handy and I have some time to dedicate to making one just not sure how effort and cost worthy it will be, I haven't priced the DIY materials yet, but I've found some complete kits in the $90 range with a pump. Anyone recommend a smaller "deck size" system they've used? I'm a college student with a really limited budget so cost is a factor and I'm ok with something that may not last longer than 2 years for right now.

I am in Orlando. I can place it in 2 spots outside, for light considerations would I want morning to about 3 pm sun with shading from the hard late Florida sun or do I want to use that late sun for better produce? Is the pump ok in that hot sun or should that be under a covered area? Are they noisy when they run? One spot is close to a neighbor's bedroom window so I don't want to disturb them and I can build shade if I need to. Do I need to consider the squirrels? Are they going to be the ones benefiting from my efforts? I adore them but I'm not doing this for their health =)

Thank you all for helping with what I'm sure will be the beginning of a lot of questions

PS

Anyone have an Excel spreadsheet they like to use?

• Re: system of a greens
          dniezby

sageann wrote: